Member Spotlight: Zach Cicconi

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What event are you running with Team for Kids?
The Airbnb Brooklyn Half!

What is your favorite place to run and why?
I really enjoy running alongside the Hudson River in Hoboken. You can’t beat the view of the NYC skyline. It really makes me feel fortunate to be able to see that view every day.

If you run with music, what are your favorite artists or songs to listen to?
I need to be listening to house music. Nothing gets my blood pumping like that heavy bass. I’m a big fan of Calvin Harris, Zedd, Hardwell, and Avicii. If I am feeling something other than house, I would be listening to Mr. Nasir Jones aka Nas.

What is your favorite post-run meal?
Usually I’m feeling very light after a run, so I would probably make a bowl of oatmeal with various fruits and a few scoops of peanut butter.

When did your relationship with running begin and why?
My relationship with running began while I was in grade school when my Dad starting running religiously after he was diagnosed with diabetes. My family and I always went to his marathons, but I never was interested in running myself. I really respected the runners and their determination to finish. The tenacity they showed really motivated me to begin running long distance about two years ago.

Do you have any pre-race rituals or superstitions, if so, please explain?
No, not really. I just make it a point to really stretch out so I will not injure myself while I am running.

Why did you choose to run this event?
I really wanted to run a marathon with my dad before he “retired” from running. He is at 29 marathons and I wanted to run number 30 with him. Unfortunately, he is not quite there physically at his age. It is now more of a personal challenge. I want to run the half marathon and slowly build up to a full marathon within the next two years. His goal was to complete a marathon in all 50 states. Hopefully with the help of my sisters and me, we can accomplish this goal as a family.

Tell us a little more about yourself
I am 25 and am currently living in Hoboken, NJ. I have always been active throughout my life, but never thought running was something I would find myself doing. I played football, baseball, and rugby in high school and college, but am currently looking for a less physical athletic activity to pursue. I am a huge Jets, Mets, and Nets fan. I like traveling and meeting new, interesting people. I am extremely close with my two sisters and parents – they constantly motivate me to better myself physically and mentally. I am also very fortunate to have my gorgeous girlfriend living in Hoboken too. We always hang out and love trying out different restaurants around the NY/NJ area.

What excites you most about running your event with Team for Kids?
I’m excited to cross the finish line and get a medal for completing my first half marathon. Also, seeing my friends and family cheering me on throughout will be a huge rush.

Connect with Zach on Facebook or Instagram

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s